Penny Red
Penny Red
This Party Sucks: Audio version!
--:--
--:--

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Penny Red

This Party Sucks: Audio version!

A one-take wonder for your listening pleasure.
5

Evening, everyone. Hope you’re keeping warm and safe out there.

And hope you enjoy this subscriber bonus! I’m experimenting with substack’s audio publishing platform- and I thought I’d try something that people have been asking for for a LONG time. It’s an audio version of this week’s essay!

That’s right! It’s my silly hobbit voice, right in your soundholes! You can listen to it while you walk around and do things! You can have a little break from screens!

In the end, I had to record it all in one take using substack’s own software. I wrangled everything I could think of in the limited time I had and couldn’t for the life of me find away to record MP3s on the phone. It’s rough and ready, and more than a bit cross, but I hope you like it. (And please do chip in with any feedback).

The accent you can hear, by the way, is a slight West Country burr from my mum’s Brizzle relatives, layered on top of generic London/South East England base tone with a scatter of antipodean inflections from so …

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Penny Red to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Penny Red
Penny Red
Laurie Penny’s extraordinary internet salon.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Laurie Penny